DHR's History of Firsts


DHR Health opens its doors

DHR opens as the region’s only physician-owned hospital, now one of the largest in the nation.

A new era for women's health

The Women's Hospital at Renaissance opens as the only free-standing hospital dedicated exclusively to women's health needs.

New options for digestive health

DHR is the first hospital in the Rio Grande Valley to provide endoscopic ultrasound.

Putting patient safety first

DHR becomes the first hospital in the Rio Grande Valley to tap into a technology that uses pulsed xenon ultraviolet light to quickly destroy bacteria, viruses, mold and even the most dangerous pathogens.

Award-winning surgical care

DHR is the first hospital system in Texas to become an Accredited Hernia Surgery Center of Excellence by the Surgical Review Corporation. DHR is the only accredited COEHS center in Texas.

Bringing new hope to the RGV

DHR becomes the Rio Grande Valley's only hospital certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid for Adult Kidney Transplant.

  • 2003

  • 2007

  • 2008

  • 2016

  • 2017

  • 2018

Committed to Excellence
Committed to Excellence

Every patient, every encounter, every time.

Background shape

Our Mission

Our MISSION is to improve the well-being of those we serve with a commitment to excellence: every patient, every encounter, every time.

Our Vision

Our VISION is to create a world-class health system to advance medicine and increase access for the communities we serve by empowering caregivers to heal through compassion, knowledge, innovation, integrated care and excellence.

Our Values

C- Compassion
A - Accountability
R - Responsibility
E - Excellence through Knowledge
S - Safety and Social Conscience

Our Trusted

Board of Managers

Mr. Riad Aboujamous, FNP-BC

Non-Physician Member

Adrian Agapito, M.D.

Counseling & Psychiatry

Dr. Roberto Ayers, M.D., Chief of Staff

Pediatric Pulmonology

Dr. Juan Bernini

Pediatric Oncology

Mr. Alonzo Cantu

Non-Physician Member

Dr. Carlos Cardenas


Dr. Javier Cortinas

Emergency Medicine

Mr. David Deanda

Non-Physician Member

Dr. Manuel Espinoza, M.D.


Dr. Carlos Garcia-Cantu

General Surgery

Dr. Martin Garza


Dr. Lawrence Gelman


Marissa Gomez-Martinez, M.D

Family Medicine

Dr. Victor Haddad

General Surgery

Dr. Ambrosio Hernandez

Pediatric Surgery

Sung Lim, M.D

Internal Medicine

Dr. Flor Limas

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Dr. Jose Marina, D.O.

Orthopedic Surgery

Dr. Ricardo Martinez

General Surgery

Dr. Robert Martinez

Chief Physician Executive

Dr. Bertha Medina

Member at Large

Dr. Armando Moncada

Plastic Surgery

Dr. Jorge Montes


Achal Patel, M.D.


Dr. Guillermo Perez, M.D.

General Surgery

Mr. Larry Safir

Non-Physician Member

Richard Sanchez, D.O.


Dr. Janete Sheiner, PhD, MSN, CNO

Non-Physician Member

Jose Federico Vallejo, M.D.


Dr. Jose Vasquez, M.D.

Internal Medicine

Dr. Ravindra Veeramachenan

Lab Services

Dr. Saroja Viswamitra, M.D.

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Dr. Asif Zamir


Dr. Fuad Zayed

Family Medicine, Member at Large